Ankeny Surprises Rhoads With Honor

Coach Rhoads was surprised to be inducted into the Ankeny Alumni Association Hall of Fame Friday night. Photo courtesy of Jon Jamison.

Coach Rhoads was surprised to be inducted into the Ankeny Alumni Association Hall of Honor Friday night. Photo courtesy of Jon Jamison.

Iowa State head football coach Paul Rhoads received an outstanding honor on Friday night, and it came as a huge surprise.

The Ankeny, Iowa native was asked to speak at an Ankeny Alumni Association banquet to talk about how teachers at Ankeny High School influenced him and his life. After his presentation was over, in which he presented Ankeny H.S. students with scholarships, the real reason for his invitation to the banquet was revealed: His induction into the Ankeny Alumni Association Hall of Honor.

The ruse was set up by the Ankeny staff. They wanted Rhoads to be there without him knowing anything about the award he was about to receive. Initially, Rhoads declined the offer due to scheduling of his son’s (Wyatt) high school baseball schedule. With the help of Rhoads’ wife, Vickie, she was able to convince the Cyclone head man to make an appearance.

Needless to say, Rhoads was shocked and humbled to receive the honor.

Photo courtesy of Jon Jamison.

Photo courtesy of Jon Jamison.

“It is a very humbling experience to be elected into the Ankeny Hall of Honor and something I certainly wasn’t prepared for,” Rhoads said. “My experience as an Ankeny High School student helped shape the person I’ve become and provided a fantastic foundation to build upon. I couldn’t be more appreciative of this selection.”

For more information on the Ankeny Alumni Association Hall of Honor go to: http://www.ankenyalumni.org/pages.php?id=5

About Mike Green

I'm in my 29th year working for Iowa State Athletics. I spent 27 years in the Athletics Communications office, including nine years as the Director of Athletics Communications. In 2022, I transitioned to the ISU Letterwinners Club as Director of Traditions and became the Director of Letterwinner Engagement in 2023. It's my goal to connect, engage and support our former student-athletes as they continue with their professional lives. My passion has always been ISU Athletics and the seed was planted by my father, Ken, who was an All-Big Eight pitcher for Iowa State in 1960. I graduated from UNI in 1993, where I was a two-year letterwinner on the golf team, and received my master's at Iowa State in 1997. I've covered volleyball, wrestling, baseball, golf, football and men's basketball at ISU, including 13 seasons (2000-13) as the men's hoops contact and nine years (2013-21) with the football program. I have stories to tell and I love telling them.
This entry was posted in Football and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment