Ankeny Surprises Rhoads With Honor

Coach Rhoads was surprised to be inducted into the Ankeny Alumni Association Hall of Fame Friday night. Photo courtesy of Jon Jamison.

Coach Rhoads was surprised to be inducted into the Ankeny Alumni Association Hall of Honor Friday night. Photo courtesy of Jon Jamison.

Iowa State head football coach Paul Rhoads received an outstanding honor on Friday night, and it came as a huge surprise.

The Ankeny, Iowa native was asked to speak at an Ankeny Alumni Association banquet to talk about how teachers at Ankeny High School influenced him and his life. After his presentation was over, in which he presented Ankeny H.S. students with scholarships, the real reason for his invitation to the banquet was revealed: His induction into the Ankeny Alumni Association Hall of Honor.

The ruse was set up by the Ankeny staff. They wanted Rhoads to be there without him knowing anything about the award he was about to receive. Initially, Rhoads declined the offer due to scheduling of his son’s (Wyatt) high school baseball schedule. With the help of Rhoads’ wife, Vickie, she was able to convince the Cyclone head man to make an appearance.

Needless to say, Rhoads was shocked and humbled to receive the honor.

Photo courtesy of Jon Jamison.

Photo courtesy of Jon Jamison.

“It is a very humbling experience to be elected into the Ankeny Hall of Honor and something I certainly wasn’t prepared for,” Rhoads said. “My experience as an Ankeny High School student helped shape the person I’ve become and provided a fantastic foundation to build upon. I couldn’t be more appreciative of this selection.”

For more information on the Ankeny Alumni Association Hall of Honor go to: http://www.ankenyalumni.org/pages.php?id=5

About Mike Green

I'm in my 20th year working in the Athletics Communications office at Iowa State and in my second year as Director of Communications. My passion has always been ISU Athletics and the seed was planted by my father, Ken, who was an All-Big Eight pitcher for Iowa State in 1960. I graduated from UNI in 1993, where I was a two-year letterwinner on the golf team, and received my master's at ISU in 1997. I've covered volleyball, wrestling, baseball, golf, football and men's basketball at ISU, including 13 seasons as the men's hoops contact. It's an honor to be the football contact for Coach Rhoads and the Cyclones. I've got stories to tell, and I love telling them.
This entry was posted in Football and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

