Lindsay Frank: Making an Impact

Frank, Lindsay_Saint Louis_2014-15

Redshirt senior Lindsay Frank has fought many battles over the course of her soccer career. The first of which came in high school—when she tore her ACL in the prime of her recruitment, causing many schools to overlook her. During her senior year of high school, however, she was able to place herself back on the recruitment map after earning first-team all-district honors. She had offers from all around the country, but having been originally from Carrollton, Texas, Frank always knew that she wanted to play Big 12 soccer.

“I wanted to go somewhere that had a great program, specifically in the Big 12, so that my family could watch me,” said Frank, “Texas, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, they’re all close enough for my family to come see me play.”

Out of the Big 12 schools, one stood above the rest: Iowa State. She was drawn to the beauty of the campus as well as the academics and the culture surrounding the program. She said it definitely felt like “the right fit” and her decision was easy.

When Frank came to Ames a true freshman, she wanted to make an immediate impact on the Iowa State soccer team. Her skills and determination ultimately lead her to become a starter by seasons end, as well as earn the team’s Newcomer of the Year Award.

“I came in wanting to prove something [and] once I became a starter, I felt like I had a purpose.” She said, “I came here wanting to make a difference, and I feel like that really pushed me through.”

She made a difference, indeed, as Frank was a key member of that year’s defense that had a program-record-tying nine shutouts. This year as a redshirt senior, she has led the Cyclone defense to six shutouts, something that she believes is very important.

“Having a shut out is huge… I feel like they are a contribution to the whole team.”

Defense has always been a big focus point over Frank’s career as she was named the team’s Co-Defensive MVP in 2012. It definitely is one of her strengths, and it allows her to be a leader at that end of the field.

“I would say [defense] is one of my biggest strengths… I like the individual battle, whoever I’m going against I don’t want them to beat me.”

Frank doesn’t let opposing players beat her, and she definitely won’t let injuries beat her either. In the summer prior to her junior year, Frank tore her ACL for the second time in her life. She missed the entire season, but was granted a medical redshirt for an extra year of eligibility; after a successful rehab assignment, she came back in her redshirt junior season to play in all 18 games for the Cyclones—tallying 712 total minutes. While coming back from injury, Frank also had to cope with learning a new position.

“I’m playing in the midfield now which is a little bit of a different role. [Defense] is definitely still a priority, but now I have to think about playing a little more offensively as well.”

The transition has gone smoothly for Frank, and she really enjoys her new position. After years of focusing strictly on defense, she was able to score her first career goal against South Dakota this season.

“It was nice to finally get a goal… I’ve put in a lot of time, and it was just nice to finally see something that I contributed towards the score.”

Frank says that will always be one of her favorite memories, but her absolute favorite was when the team traveled to California to face Pepperdine. She had never been to California before that trip, and really enjoyed taking in the Golden Gate Bridge and Santa Monica beach. The trip was spent with her teammates, which she says is what she will miss most about her time here at Iowa State.

Once soccer is over, she is planning on going into physical therapy school so she can help others who are experiencing what she went through. Lindsay Frank has showed skill, determination, and heart over her career here in Ames, making her easy to root for. Catch her final home game on Friday, Oct. 30th versus Texas Tech.

This entry was posted in Soccer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

