Historical Reunion

SIDs at Jack Trice

I have spent almost 20 years working in the Iowa State athletics department and been blessed with outstanding moments and memories in my career.

One of the top highlights of my tenure at Iowa State occurred Homecoming weekend when every individual responsible for promoting Iowa State athletics for nearly the last 40 years came back to Ames to reminisce about their time at Iowa State.

I love history. But I REALLY love Iowa State history. The Cyclone knowledge these five former head sports information directors (Tom Starr, 1977-80; Butch Henry, 1980-83; Kirk Hendrix, 1983-85; Dave Starr, 1985-93; Tom Kroeschell, 1993-2013) possess is absolutely immense.

Thanks to the foresight of Iowa State Athletics Director Jamie Pollard, we now have a platform to showcase these once-in-a-lifetime events on our Cyclones.tv channel. Cyclones.tv was able to sit down with these Cyclone pioneers in a roundtable discussion for them to tell their tales of Iowa State athletics.

The stories recounted were incredible, and if you are a true Cyclone, you will surely agree. The quintet gave us inside scoop on Cyclone legends Johnny Orr, Pete Taylor, Jeff Hornacek and Fred Hoiberg just to name a few, and the Cyclones.tv cameras caught every moment of it.

The cameras rolled for 2 ½ hours. It could have gone longer, but time constraints prohibited it.

SIDRoundtable143

All five former publicity men have been enormously successful after they left Iowa State, but it became extremely evident in the interviews that their time and service at Iowa State will always be special to them.

That’s what makes being a Cyclone so great.

I would love to give you a couple of stories from the “Iowa State SID Roundtable,” but I don’t want to be the spoiler.

You will have to see for yourself when the exclusive show premieres on Cyclones.tv.

Stay tuned!

 

About Mike Green

I'm in my 21st year working in the Athletics Communications office at Iowa State and in my third year as Director of Communications. My passion has always been ISU Athletics and the seed was planted by my father, Ken, who was an All-Big Eight pitcher for Iowa State in 1960. I graduated from UNI in 1993, where I was a two-year letterwinner on the golf team, and received my master's at ISU in 1997. I've covered volleyball, wrestling, baseball, golf, football and men's basketball at ISU, including 13 seasons as the men's hoops contact. It's an honor to be the football contact for Coach Campbell and the Cyclones. I've got stories to tell, and I love telling them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Historical Reunion

  1. Horton, Richard E [E CPE] says:

    anxious to see it – lots of memories – will wait & look for more info

    Dick Horton 2119 Country Club Blvd Ames, Iowa 50014 H. 515-292-9482 | C. 515.231.7328 horton@iastate.edu ________________________________

    Like

Leave a Reply

