Hallie Christofferson: Next Stop, Vienna, Austria

Hallie Christofferson with Head Coach Bill Fennelly

Hallie Christofferson with Head Coach Bill Fennelly

Much has been written about the Hamlin, Iowa native who went from playing 1A basketball in high school to a two-time All-American in college. If you thought her college career was a whirlwind, her post college career could top that. It’s only been about two months since the season wrapped up, but Hallie Christofferson already knows where her immediate future lies – in Vienna, Austria.

Christofferson recently put pen to paper to sign her first professional basketball contract. She will travel to Austria as the newest member of the Flying Foxes. The Flying Foxes are fresh off their Austrian Women’s Basketball League championship after posting an 18-0 record this past season.

With the ink barely dry on the contract, it is still hard for her to consider herself as a professional player. In fact, she is still trying to let it all sink in that her college career has ended. She joked about having to clean everything out of her locker at Sukup leaving just her nameplate hanging and coming home to find that same nameplate taken down and lying in her apartment.

For Christofferson, a professional basketball contract is a dream come true.

“When [my agent] sent me the contract is when I realized that I was going to go play in the professional world and when I was back home this past weekend people kept saying ‘You’re a pro now,’” she said. “It still doesn’t feel like I’m a pro because I’m still working out in Ames and still coming to the facility.”

It may not feel like it now, but come September when she departs for Austria it will. Vienna is quite a ways away for a small-town Iowa girl – 4,884 miles to be exact. To put this into relative terms you would have to cross the state of Iowa 24.5 times to travel as many miles.

The distance doesn’t bother Christofferson, who is just excited for an opportunity to continue her playing career. Although she may not be nervous per say, she understands there are natural obstacles that come with moving halfway across the world.

“I’m not nervous about anything, but I think I will have some trouble with the language, food and how to get from point ‘A’ to point ‘B,’ she said. “It’s big compared to anything I have ever lived in. It’s right in the city and I won’t have a car. I will use buses and cars so I will have to get used to that.”

Christofferson isn’t the first Cyclone to enjoy an overseas playing opportunity as many former ISU players have represented the Cyclones including, Chelsea Poppens, Toccara Ross, Kelsey Bolte, Alison Lacey, Lauren Mansfield and Brittany Wilkins to name a few.

About Nicole Greiner

I'm in my third year at Iowa State as the communications director for women's basketball. I also assist with football, soccer and swimming and diving. I am a 2011 graduate of the University of Florida and a Pittsburgh, native. I am excited to give you a behind the scenes look at Iowa State athletics. Feel free to send me an e-mail at ngreiner@iastate.edu. You can also find me on twitter @NicoleGreiner. And as always, Go Cyclones!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Women's Basketball and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hallie Christofferson: Next Stop, Vienna, Austria

  1. Pingback: Catching Up With Hallie Christofferson | Cyclone Sidebar

Leave a Reply

