Switching It Up

Earlier this summer I was asked by Mike Green, our director of athletics communications, to move over to the men’s basketball beat. I’ve covered the women’s basketball beat for three years after serving five years with volleyball and softball.

As far as professional development goes, the switch was a no-brainer, but from a personal standpoint it was a move made with mixed emotions. The mixed emotions have nothing to do with the men’s program. Over the years you become close to the coaches and players you work with. During the regular season, I’d venture to guess we see our teams at least five days a week. They become your second family. It is one of my favorite parts of the job.

The women’s basketball program at Iowa State is special. If you’ve been around long enough you’ve likely heard Coach Fennelly talk about the “Iowa State Way.” That really shouldn’t even have quotation marks around it because that insinuates somehow the Iowa State Way isn’t a real thing. It is very real.

If I only had a dollar for every time someone commented on how polite the team was while we were on the road, I’d be a much wealthier man. It made a communications guy feel very proud to be associated with them and is truly a credit to the people on that coaching staff and the members of the team. That’s the Iowa State Way.

They don the Cardinal & Gold with great pride and do it in a first-class fashion every day. Be proud, Cyclone Nation.

Do me a favor and watch the video below if you haven’t already. It is the postgame locker room speech from Coach Fennelly. It is awesome. I’m glad it is something he allowed Tyler Rutherford of Cyclones.TV to capture.

Georgia postgame locker room

With all that said, I am very much looking forward to my new endeavor with the men’s team. It is clear that Coach Hoiberg is building something special. Hopefully I can give you a unique look inside the program.

I’m also very excited for what our office has planned for the future of Cyclones.com, with this blog being one of them. We hope to engage you, the fans of Cyclone Nation, using this blog, our website and social media. Make sure you give us a follow on all platforms and take part in our game day blogs. Let us know what you are thinking!

About Matt Shoultz

I'm in my 11th year at Iowa State and third as communications director for men's basketball. I have worked with football, women's basketball, softball, volleyball, tennis and swimming since arriving at Iowa State. I am a 2005 graduate of the University of South Carolina and a Litchfield, Minn. native. I look forward to sharing the tales of Iowa State athletics with you all. If you have any questions or comments feel free to email me at mshoultz@iastate.edu. I'm on twitter @mjshoultz. Go Cyclones!
This entry was posted in Women's Basketball and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Switching It Up

  1. Larry A. Christiansen - Class of 1966 says:

    Amen! Proud to be a Cyclone … especially in California.

    Like

  2. Matt Shoultz says:

    Thanks for reading, Larry. Hope you enjoy the blog!

    Like

  3. Matt Gubbels says:

    Awesome post. Well written and summed up everything that the program is about so well. I only covered the team for a year at the Iowa State Daily while in college but everything you said is why I keep coming to games and following the team.

    So proud to be a Cyclone and when I am helping coach teams I try to use some of the things I have heard Coach Fennelly say. He is a legend and recruits quality young people.

    Great job Matt!!

    Like

  4. Stacy Galema says:

    Going to miss you covering the ladies! You do such great work. All is well in knowing you’ll still be with the Cardinal and Gold! Thanks for all the time you put in and looking forward to what’s yet to come!

    Like

  5. Matt Shoultz says:

    Thanks, Stacy. It has been a lot of fun. Thanks for taking part in all the blogs and social media. We truly have the best fans in the country and you are certainly a big part of that!

    Like

  6. Rich Pope says:

    I just got around to reading this, and am yet again so impressed with your writing skills. I and from first hand knowledge, I know that this is truly from the heart. As I have had the fortune to be around the women’s program at ISU, I also know first hand that your words are right as rain! It is, indeed, great to be associated with classy folks from top to bottom. Good luck with the changes and I hope to be along for the ride as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

