Hogue Brings The Energy

Dustin Hogue

At media day, Fred Hoiberg was quick to mention Dustin Hogue, saying the JUCO transfer was a warrior and relentless on the glass.

In my blog after the first practice of the season I commented on how much energy he brings to the court. It is fun to watch and is a common sentiment around the Sukup Basketball Complex.

As valuable as a guy like Hogue is, it is hard to find many like him in a day when points scored are what gets you on Sports Center.

Hogue chose to be the guy that outworks his opponent. He’s been that guy since day one.

“The people that know me know that I am a high-energy person,” Hogue said. “I like to bring that energy to the basketball court. I want to be the guy that dives on the floor for the ball or goes the extra mile to get stops on defense. If I can be the guy that brings energy and gets the other guys to play with more energy that would be great.”

By adding Hogue to the roster, Iowa State has another player that can play beside Melvin Ejim and help the Cyclones on the glass.

“Rebounding has always been a big thing for me,” Hogue said. “I’ve always been a strong player. I try to use the abilities I’ve been given to jump high and grab rebounds. I take great pride in being a great rebounder.”

Hogue, a Yonkers, N.Y. native, spent much of last season watching Ejim play.

“I watched Melvin a lot last year and it was something else because I’ve never even had rebound numbers like that,” Hogue said. “To have someone on the floor that wants to get the ball as much as I do, that will only help our team because I think it will be hard for teams to stop both of us on the glass.”

Hogue comes from an athletic family. His brother, Doug, played in the NFL for the Carolina Panthers and Detroit Lions. He credits some of his tenacity on the basketball court to what he learned on the football field.

“My game really originated from football,” Hogue said. “I liked that sport quite a bit, but my brother was too good so I chose to beat him in another sport.”

Hogue and his Indian Hills Community College team faced fellow Cyclone K.J. Bluford’s Northeast Community College squad twice last season and Bluford is happy to be on the same team this time around.

“Dustin was always moving and was good communicator on the floor with his team,” Bluford said. “He crashed the rim hard and dunked on a few of my teammates.”

So did he dunk on Bluford?

“No way,” Bluford said.

“He’s lying,” Hogue said with a laugh. “He just doesn’t want to be a victim.”

Cyclones fans will get to see Hogue in action for the first time Sunday, Nov. 3 when ISU hosts Augustana in an exhibition game. The regular season opens on Nov. 10 against UNC Wilmington.

About Matt Shoultz

I'm in my 10th year at Iowa State and second as communications director for men's basketball. I have worked with football, women's basketball, volleyball, tennis and swimming since arriving at Iowa State. I am a 2005 graduate of the University of South Carolina and a Litchfield, Minn. native. I look forward to sharing the tales of Iowa State athletics with you all. If you have any questions or comments feel free to email me at mshoultz@iastate.edu. I'm on twitter @mjshoultz. Go Cyclones!
This entry was posted in Men's Basketball and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hogue Brings The Energy

  1. Pingback: Article on Dustin Hogue

  2. Pingback: Ejim out 4-6 weeks - Page 14

  3. Pingback: Ejim out 4-6 weeks - Page 15

Leave a Reply

